Reading through the pain

#2 woke early this morning, around 6:30. She trundled downstairs to sit with me. She was not feeling good—yesterday she fell off the monkey bars and hurt her back and she is fighting a cold. I asked if she wanted some Tylenol. She said she just wanted me to read to her. So we curled up under a blanket and read Carnival at Candlelight, Magic Tree House #33.

#2 and I are working our way through the Magic Tree House series.

#2 and I are working our way through the Magic Tree House series.

When we finished, she seemed to be feeling a bit better. And since it was a beautiful autumn morning, we walked up to the corner bagel shop and got breakfast. Then we popped across the street to the local bookstore, Children’s Book World, and picked up a few new Magic Tree House books. Later in the day, when #2 was wilting a bit, we sat down and started another. We were scarcely half way through before she was asleep on my shoulder.

One thought on “Reading through the pain

Comments are closed.