Loosing our Parents

As a child I thought I knew my parents well. As an adult, I often wish I knew more about my parents. I lament all the experiences and memories that my parents lost when their parents died. I worry that I will want to know more about my parents when it’s too late, when I can no longer pick up the phone and call them. And I wonder what #1 and #2 will want to know about me.

We are always losing our parents. Sometimes those losses are devastating. Sometimes those losses are quotidian.

Kimberley Alyssa Kok’s morning with my father is a poignant reminder to me to spend time with #1 and #2. In particular, her realization that in some small but important way she has lost a part of her father:

Kimberly Alyssa Kok doesn’t understand her father’s dialect as he orders soya milk.

What do we lose when we don’t understand the people closest to us?

