Playing Cards

Uno has long been a staple pastime in our house. Most nights before I read to #1 and #2 we play a few quick hands. In the past week, we have revived a handful of games I played as a child. Most popular are 99, Golf, 31, and double solitaire, which we have renamed “Duotaire” (head-to-head Klondike).

A recent (teaching) hand of 99 moments before #2 whipped me.

A recent (teaching) hand of 99 moments before #2 whipped me.

I marvel at how much #1 and #2 like playing cards. We seem always to be playing cards these days—at home, at the cafe, at the bagel shop, waiting for food at the local pub.

I could argue that they are developing math skills (99 requires on-the-fly addition and subtraction) or strategy and memory (Golf and 31 require paying attention to which cards people are collecting and judging probabilities). But in the end, what I enjoy most is simply the time together. Just the two or three of us playing cards.

It’s the simple things.

4 thoughts on “Playing Cards

    • I find playing cards a simple pleasure. I will, I am sure, miss these games when #1 and #2 no longer want to play. Until then, I intend to enjoy our time together.

  1. My father played cards with us a lot when we were growing up. He would kind of trick us into it at first, calling us to sit at the table, sitting across from us, and then slapping the deck in front of us asking us to shuffle. How could we not! In hindsight it was so exciting to sit across from him, as a sort of equal, since most other times I was the kid and he was the dad. During cards the rules were the boss, not him, and the playing field was leveled and that was so much fun. I’ll never forget it. Glad to know other dads are doing the same for their little ones!

    • I recall fondly playing cards with my grandparents whenever I stayed with them—after dinner we would sit around the table and play cards for what seemed like hours. Some great memories. Maybe #1 and #2 will one day have similarly happy memories.

Comments are closed.