Resurrecting Main Line Dads (redux)

Like throwing biscuit dough at the wall to see what sticks, different versions of this blog have been thrown at the internet a few times to see if it will stick. So far nothing. I’m now tossing another ball of blog dough and thinking about throwing it at the wall to see if it will stick. This post inaugurates yet another version of Main Line Dads with a summary of what you can expect here.

First: this is not a parenting blog. While I am a parent (a dad), I have no intention of or qualifications for dispensing parenting advice. Like most people, I am scarring my children in ways I don’t intend and probably can’t even imagine (along with all the ways I can imagine).

Second: this is not a blog about how to be a dad. There are lots of dad blogs out there, some dedicated to preserving some modicum of sports-loving masculinity, some devoted to being a modern, sensitive dad, and others focused on how to pick out the best parent-oriented, child-protecting, father-appropriate gear. Those blogs all provide a service and some excellent reading. If you want to know which diaper bag will preserve and project your tender-masculinity at the next party for 2-year-olds, turn to one those blogs.

Third: many of these posts will offer some critique, will be critical, and might even verge on the vitriolic. I intend to use this space to reflect on how people are parents: how they treat their children, their spouses, and the people around them. My own experiences and behavior will share the stage with observations of other parents.

Fourth: many of the observations will contrast how fathers and mothers behave, toward each other, toward their children, and toward other parents. I am intrigued by the different expectations and standards applied to moms and dads.

Finally, I am not a perfect or probably even a particularly good dad. But simply because I live in glass house will not deter me from throwing stones, at myself or at others. I hope to offer a cocktail of self criticism (and at times loathing) along with social commentary and, occasionally, condemnation.

